87 BSKE candidates disqualified so far

MANILA, Philippines — President Marcos has granted service recognition incentive (SRI) and gratuity pay to government employees, including contract of service (COS) and job order (JO) workers this year.

The provision of additional cash incentives for state workers was contained in Administrative Orders (AO) 12 and 13, signed by Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin on Dec. 7 by the authority of the President.

Under AO 12, workers in the Executive branch will receive SRI amounting to P20,000 each.

Qualified for the one-time SRI are civilian personnel in national government agencies, including those in state universities and colleges (SUCs) and government-owned or controlled corporations (GOCCs) occupying regular, contractual or casual positions.

The incentive will also be given to Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police, Bureau of Fire Protection and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology personnel.

Uniformed personnel of the Bureau of Corrections, Philippine Coast Guard and National Mapping and Resource Information Authority of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources are also qualified for the P20,000 SRI.

Civilian personnel occupying regular, contractual or casual positions; personnel who are still in government service as of Nov. 30 and personnel who rendered at least four months of satisfactory service are likewise qualified for the SRI.

As for AO 13, the President granted a one-time gratuity pay of not more than P5,000 each for COS and JO government employees who have rendered at least four months of actual satisfactory performance of service, as stipulated in their respective contracts as of Dec. 15 and whose contracts are still effective as of the same date.

COS and JOs of national government agencies, SUCs, GOCCs and local water districts are qualified to receive the 5,000 gratuity pay.

Both payments of P20,000 SRI and P5,000 gratuity pay to all qualified employees shall be given not earlier than Dec. 15.

Employees of legislative and judicial branche s and other offices with fiscal autonomy may likewise be granted a one-time SRI by their respective heads at a uniform rate not exceeding P20,000 each.

The grant of SRI to employees in local government units, including in barangays, shall be determined by their respective councils.

MANILA, Philippines — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has disqualified a total of 87 barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan election candidates as of Monday.

In a radio interview, Comele c Chairman George Garcia said the disqualifications may still be appealed before the commission en banc.

“If they don’t file (an appeal), our decision will become final and executory,” Garcia added.

There were 52 cases of premature campaigning and 21 disqualification cases. Five were declared nuisance candidates and another five had their certificates of candidacy denied due course or canceled.

Three bets were disqualified due to vote buying while one committed both premature campaigning and vote buying.

Garcia disclosed that over 300 disqualification cases remain pending befor e the Comelec’s First and Second Divisions.

He said they are targeting to resolve all pending cases until early 2024.

“It is expected that the number of disqualified candidates may increase before the year ends. Just give us a few more weeks after the New Year and we can release all these rulings,” he added.

More News


Bear with me. This will b

Scroll to Top